MalaysianUnderwater.com (MUW) • View topic - High blood pressure & diving

High blood pressure & diving

Any information attained from this forum is for general knowledge only. Please seek professional advice for further diagnosis.

High blood pressure & diving

Post Number:#1  Postby Jord » Fri Jun 08, 2007 4:17 pm

You people covered quite a number of topic inc. diabetic & diving . How about those who have high blood pressure? Any effect/complication/advice? :-?
Jord

Topic author

Re: High blood pressure & diving

Post Number:#2  Postby SeaDemon » Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:37 pm

I give you one thumb up for your query. You are correct, this is another common condition that we have overlooked. I know of people with hypertension with BP not exceeding 150/90 and do not suffer from hypertension-related complications who dive BUT ONLY AFTER HAVING BEEN CLEARED BY THEIR RESPECTIVE PHYSICIAN. Then again, I'm not a qualified doctor to say whether that is okay.

What effects hypertension has on diving, I shall leave it to Divedoc to answer.
SeaDemon

Topic author

Post Number:#3  Postby divedoc » Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:48 pm

Opps!! Forgot to discuss about one of the common illness in Malaysia rite now!!

Yes, hypertension...
The problem with hypertension is, is you are a long-standing sufferer, you may have developed hypertension related complications such as eye problems, cardiovascular disease, kidney failure and so on...so if this is the case, then forget about diving as one may experience exaggerated responses to immersion, cold stresses and exertion whilst underwater.