MalaysianUnderwater.com (MUW) • View topic - 1K can get which DC???

1K can get which DC???

1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#1  Postby CSSSJ » Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:29 pm

hi, i new here and also diving...

planning to get one dc..but my budget is about 1k only...

which dc is more suitable???

cos i know nothing about dc...
only know..Geo and mosquito is about 1k...

got other can suggest??

thank
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#2  Postby Sicko » Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:31 pm

CSSSJ wrote:hi, i new here and also diving...

planning to get one dc..but my budget is about 1k only...

which dc is more suitable???

cos i know nothing about dc...
only know..Geo and mosquito is about 1k...

got other can suggest??

thank

Both DC you mentioned are good enough...........unless you want air integration also............and that's another $$$  :D
Anyone can do a dive to 100m or more.....
But how many will return alive???
Sicko
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:23 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#3  Postby mocha » Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:02 pm

good enuf...serves the purpose....
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't
User avatar
mocha
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2589
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 8:39 am
Location: KL
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#4  Postby CSSSJ » Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:32 pm

oh...

just wonder...is there any other DC can choose???

both mosquito n Geo fuction are about same???

if compare v D4??
wat function let D4 win or more expensive?
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#5  Postby Babygal » Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:56 pm

I wanna sell my mosquito.....
If u interested just PM me k.....
:P :P
Babygal
Diver
Diver
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: KL
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#6  Postby Peter Griffin » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:01 pm

I would go with mosquito, reason being it's fairly easy to replace the battery, even the regular watch store can replace it for you. but D4, that's another story.
:icon_tongue:
R U wet yet?
Peter Griffin
Diver
Diver
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 9:35 pm
Location: Australia
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#7  Postby evo5555 » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:04 pm

CSSSJ wrote:oh...

just wonder...is there any other DC can choose???

both mosquito n Geo fuction are about same???

if compare v D4??
wat function let D4 win or more expensive?




Because D4 looks more beautiful and famous.. :D
evo5555
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:37 am
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#8  Postby ScubaBunny » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:19 pm

GEO - can change batt on your own. It comes with a batt changer tool for DIY.
ScubaBunny
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:31 am
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#9  Postby CSSSJ » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:54 pm

Peter Griffin wrote:I would go with mosquito, reason being it's fairly easy to replace the battery, even the regular watch store can replace it for you. but D4, that's another story.
:icon_tongue:

just because this battery replaceable???

D4 wat story???

i waiting :angel8:


ScubaBunny wrote:GEO - can change batt on your own. It comes with a batt changer tool for DIY.

bunny :crybaby2:
still talk Geo to my  :crybaby2: :crybaby2: :crybaby2:

but i really consider it..after chat v u...

now can u tell me y u choose to change it?
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#10  Postby 40bar » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 pm

i just got new toy D4.. a few days ago..awaiting for tested after raya.. dunno its work or not...but keep the faith what ever i have
www.snradventure.com
The foremost outdoor, event consultant & training developments
40bar
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 10:20 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#11  Postby DragonDreams » Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:09 am

40bar wrote:i just got new toy D4.. a few days ago..awaiting for tested after raya.. dunno its work or not...but keep the faith what ever i have


Cool 40bar! give us a review of the D4 when you're back from your trip ya?

:glasses9:
*Just Breathe*
DragonDreams
Sport Diver
Sport Diver
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:53 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#12  Postby CSSSJ » Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:18 am

40bar wrote:i just got new toy D4.. a few days ago..awaiting for tested after raya.. dunno its work or not...but keep the faith what ever i have

woh...
congra :angel8:


b4 this u use which DC??
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#13  Postby ScubaBunny » Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:39 am

ScubaBunny wrote:GEO - can change batt on your own. It comes with a batt changer tool for DIY.

bunny :crybaby2:
still talk Geo to my  :crybaby2: :crybaby2: :crybaby2:

but i really consider it..after chat v u...

now can u tell me y u choose to change it?
[/quote]

Just like to find a smaller DC bro.. and way cooler look!  :D  :D itchy  to get new stuff... dats all..
ScubaBunny
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:31 am
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#14  Postby CSSSJ » Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:08 pm

ScubaBunny wrote:
ScubaBunny wrote:GEO - can change batt on your own. It comes with a batt changer tool for DIY.

bunny :crybaby2:
still talk Geo to my  :crybaby2: :crybaby2: :crybaby2:

but i really consider it..after chat v u...

now can u tell me y u choose to change it?


Just like to find a smaller DC bro.. and way cooler look!  :D  :D itchy  to get new stuff... dats all..
[/quote]
mosquito also easy to replace the battery woh....
i also looking small dc...cos my hand really thin :D
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#15  Postby 40bar » Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:34 pm

he he..my totally new toy guys!! :D..before this using NIKE watch just only shown bottom time through stop watch timer...very difficult in underwater..always just look to my buddy..what's next action
www.snradventure.com
The foremost outdoor, event consultant & training developments
40bar
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 10:20 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#16  Postby Andy » Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:53 pm

ScubaBunny wrote:GEO - can change batt on your own. It comes with a batt changer tool for DIY.


Good for those budget conscious. Mosquito is the same, you can change battery yourself. That save you money (more expensive to have shop change it for you) and time from having to send you DC to a shop for battery replacement.
Andy
Diver
Diver
 
Posts: 67
Topics: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:34 am
Location: Blue Planet
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#17  Postby CSSSJ » Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:15 pm

so geo n mosquito r same battery changeable...

so wat different of them???

sry..so many question... :D
:hello:
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#18  Postby evo5555 » Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:34 pm

CSSSJ wrote:

so geo n mosquito r same battery changeable...

so wat different of them???

sry..so many question... :D
:hello:


CSSS,

I recommend VR3 dive computer. User replaceable AAbattery and with Colour somemore.i am sure it will looks cool.. :D
evo5555
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:37 am
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#19  Postby Peter Griffin » Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:39 pm

evo5555 wrote:
CSSSJ wrote:

so geo n mosquito r same battery changeable...

so wat different of them???

sry..so many question... :D
:hello:


CSSS,

I recommend VR3 dive computer. User replaceable AAbattery and with Colour somemore.i am sure it will looks cool.. :D


...and will cost an airplane to buy..hehehe.. :D :D
R U wet yet?
Peter Griffin
Diver
Diver
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 9:35 pm
Location: Australia
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#20  Postby CSSSJ » Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:58 pm

---______________________---



Image
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#21  Postby Sicko » Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:08 pm

The VR3 looks cool doesn't it??.........

But do you need it? Or is it really necessary?  ;)
Anyone can do a dive to 100m or more.....
But how many will return alive???
Sicko
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:23 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#22  Postby CSSSJ » Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:30 pm

actually...

now i empty hand..so i need it...

but no money bring it home only...
:smileinbox: :smileinbox: :smileinbox:
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#23  Postby evo5555 » Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:45 pm

CSSSJ wrote:actually...

now i empty hand..so i need it...

but no money bring it home only...
:smileinbox: :smileinbox: :smileinbox:


CSSS,

this is a good unit...it uses AA and if it floods you can re-use it. Last time my Mares M1 also use AA battery. It flood once, but i took batteries out, clear the sea water, clean and dry it and replace new battery and it is going rock and roll... :D  :D  :D

Anyway i am just pulling your leg for the VR3, hehehe..It is not suitable for you, only suitable for Techie people like SICKO.From my opinion, you can get a Oceanic Geo. i am using it as well. Battery is cheap, user replaceable, function is good, versatile, stylish and best bang for the buck. AS i have said, all Dive coms are the same as all the algorithm will try its best to make u safe. Oceanic Geo, it has never let me down.   ;)  Good luck!
Last edited by evo5555 on Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
evo5555
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:37 am
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#24  Postby CSSSJ » Fri Sep 19, 2008 2:37 am

evo5555 wrote:
CSSSJ wrote:actually...

now i empty hand..so i need it...

but no money bring it home only...
:smileinbox: :smileinbox: :smileinbox:


CSSS,

this is a good unit...it uses AA and if it floods you can re-use it. Last time my Mares M1 also use AA battery. It flood once, but i took batteries out, clear the sea water, clean and dry it and replace new battery and it is going rock and roll... :D  :D  :D

Anyway i am just pulling your leg for the VR3, hehehe..It is not suitable for you, only suitable for Techie people like SICKO.From my opinion, you can get a Oceanic Geo. i am using it as well. Battery is cheap, user replaceable, function is good, versatile, stylish and best bang for the buck. AS i have said, all Dive coms are the same as all the algorithm will try its best to make u safe. Oceanic Geo, it has never let me down.   ;)  Good luck!

woh woh....another guy vote for Geo...
(first one is bunny, she make me check the Geo background :crybaby2:)

and in my mind..i also prefer Geo than Mos...
not mosquito no good..just too many ppl have it:P

and i dont like the hot thing :laughing11:
CSSSJ
Diver
Diver
 
Topic author
Posts: 63
Topics: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Johor BP
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#25  Postby Sicko » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:06 am

evo5555 wrote:
CSSSJ wrote:actually...

now i empty hand..so i need it...

but no money bring it home only...
:smileinbox: :smileinbox: :smileinbox:


CSSS,

this is a good unit...it uses AA and if it floods you can re-use it. Last time my Mares M1 also use AA battery. It flood once, but i took batteries out, clear the sea water, clean and dry it and replace new battery and it is going rock and roll... :D  :D  :D

Anyway i am just pulling your leg for the VR3, hehehe..It is not suitable for you, only suitable for Techie people like SICKO.From my opinion, you can get a Oceanic Geo. i am using it as well. Battery is cheap, user replaceable, function is good, versatile, stylish and best bang for the buck. AS i have said, all Dive coms are the same as all the algorithm will try its best to make u safe. Oceanic Geo, it has never let me down.   ;)  Good luck!

VR3 not only for tech la............can be used for all levels and upgraded to full tech computer if you eventually go that route.

But personally, I feel it's too expensive and gimmicky. I use suunto stinger and dive tables. The stinger so that I can log my dives and profiles for reviewing later.  :)
Anyone can do a dive to 100m or more.....
But how many will return alive???
Sicko
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:23 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#26  Postby evo5555 » Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:24 am

Sicko wrote:
evo5555 wrote:
CSSSJ wrote:actually...

now i empty hand..so i need it...

but no money bring it home only...
:smileinbox: :smileinbox: :smileinbox:


CSSS,

this is a good unit...it uses AA and if it floods you can re-use it. Last time my Mares M1 also use AA battery. It flood once, but i took batteries out, clear the sea water, clean and dry it and replace new battery and it is going rock and roll... :D  :D  :D

Anyway i am just pulling your leg for the VR3, hehehe..It is not suitable for you, only suitable for Techie people like SICKO.From my opinion, you can get a Oceanic Geo. i am using it as well. Battery is cheap, user replaceable, function is good, versatile, stylish and best bang for the buck. AS i have said, all Dive coms are the same as all the algorithm will try its best to make u safe. Oceanic Geo, it has never let me down.   ;)  Good luck!

VR3 not only for tech la............can be used for all levels and upgraded to full tech computer if you eventually go that route.

But personally, I feel it's too expensive and gimmicky. I use suunto stinger and dive tables. The stinger so that I can log my dives and profiles for reviewing later.  :)


Well bro sicko,

Yeah we can say that it is not for technical alone, and if we do normal diving, still can use VR3. But the VR3"machine" is designed for deep tech diving with mix gas calculation and etc etc, and with it comes with a price. So, might as well get a normal DC for normal diving. Or want so save money use table only ma.Just like Ferrari, we can drive to the market also, but it's best if you drive it to night spots VIP parking or to the race track... :D  :D  :D
evo5555
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:37 am
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#27  Postby Sicko » Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:50 pm

evo5555 wrote:
Sicko wrote:
evo5555 wrote:
CSSSJ wrote:actually...

now i empty hand..so i need it...

but no money bring it home only...
:smileinbox: :smileinbox: :smileinbox:


CSSS,

this is a good unit...it uses AA and if it floods you can re-use it. Last time my Mares M1 also use AA battery. It flood once, but i took batteries out, clear the sea water, clean and dry it and replace new battery and it is going rock and roll... :D  :D  :D

Anyway i am just pulling your leg for the VR3, hehehe..It is not suitable for you, only suitable for Techie people like SICKO.From my opinion, you can get a Oceanic Geo. i am using it as well. Battery is cheap, user replaceable, function is good, versatile, stylish and best bang for the buck. AS i have said, all Dive coms are the same as all the algorithm will try its best to make u safe. Oceanic Geo, it has never let me down.   ;)  Good luck!

VR3 not only for tech la............can be used for all levels and upgraded to full tech computer if you eventually go that route.

But personally, I feel it's too expensive and gimmicky. I use suunto stinger and dive tables. The stinger so that I can log my dives and profiles for reviewing later.  :)


Well bro sicko,

Yeah we can say that it is not for technical alone, and if we do normal diving, still can use VR3. But the VR3"machine" is designed for deep tech diving with mix gas calculation and etc etc, and with it comes with a price. So, might as well get a normal DC for normal diving. Or want so save money use table only ma.Just like Ferrari, we can drive to the market also, but it's best if you drive it to night spots VIP parking or to the race track... :D  :D  :D

Ya bro..........depends on the $$$$$$ you have la..... For me, stinger and tables will do  :D :D
Anyone can do a dive to 100m or more.....
But how many will return alive???
Sicko
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:23 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#28  Postby Sicko » Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:56 pm

If planning to do tech in future, might also wanna look at

1) Shearwater pursuit
2) Diverite Nitek X (will debut later part of this year)
Anyone can do a dive to 100m or more.....
But how many will return alive???
Sicko
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:23 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#29  Postby Nizaha » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:52 pm

In technical diving( i mean 50mtr below) we actually don't really use Computer for Deco/dive planning. I use comp for Gauge Mode only.  We normally cut the table from Deco software available in the market like Vplannner or deco planner..

Why not take a look Uwatec galellio and terra model. I know Diki use them right now.. ask him for feedback. Nice comp a lots of feature. Or go the Basic Scuba discussion board. I wrote long article how to choose right dive computer.

I hope this help..

Safe Diving
Zaha
Last edited by Nizaha on Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Equipment can go to those depths, but your body might not be able to..
Nizaha
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:00 pm
Location: lake Dore,Ontario, Canada
Gender: None specified

Re: 1K can get which DC???

Post Number:#30  Postby Sharkfin » Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:56 am

i m using uwatec galellio.....it's quite $$$$$$ but it's worth an investment, further more u can monitor your buddy's air pressure ( with additional trx ) & up to 4 trx pairing. I bought it from XXXXXX dive shop quite cheap compare the market price at most of dive shop.
Last edited by Sharkfin on Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sharkfin
Diver
Diver
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:23 pm
Location: kuala lumpur
Gender: None specified

Next

Return to Dive Computers/Bottom Timer/Gauges

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron