MalaysianUnderwater.com (MUW) • View topic - Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#1  Postby SuperKingKong® » Wed Dec 05, 2007 6:52 am

just wanna know... anyone out here using a SPG (Submersible Pressure Gauge) with a PSI reading? (NOT BAR)
cheers...
"Dive Like Hell & You'll Be There" (it's so true... i personally have experienced it)
User avatar
SuperKingKong®
Scuba Guru
Scuba Guru
 
Topic author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: pLaNeT oF tHe ApE
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#2  Postby AcId » Wed Dec 05, 2007 7:42 am

I have both PSI and bar gauges. But comfortable with bar big numbers makes me scared.
If I have a dollar & U have a dollar & we swap, neither is better off. BUT if I have an idea and U have an idea & we swap we r both richer.
AcId
Sport Diver
Sport Diver
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:08 am
Location: Long Hill, Temasek
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#3  Postby Underwater Tourist » Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:13 am

Me.... thats bcos someone donated to me.. Lil confusing when everyone around talk in Bar...haha

Image
Diver2B is now Underwater Tourist.
Underwater Tourist
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:20 am
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#4  Postby jade » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:19 am

Dat wud b me  :hello: ... got psi, got feet instead of meter oso
jade
Sport Diver
Sport Diver
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 4:42 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#5  Postby irukandji » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:46 am

Mine is digital SPG. Can change between the units, the digits also big big one. Hehe!  :)
The Ocean is Calling, Let's go DIVING!
irukandji
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Posts: 345
Topics: 9
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Starpark
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#6  Postby SuperKingKong® » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:54 am

would it be a problem if your buddy asks u to tell then ur air... but he is using a bar version  :D

so, at the end... either u start converting from psi to bar... or u tell them straight .. "1000" .. and they don't understand it... "how come u got 1000 bar??!"  :D

when i dove in US previously, my insta-buddy asked me to check my air (which is in bar) and to tell him how much left (he is using psi, since he is a local).... i kept struggling.. converting.. and "bluff" him .. by just saying a figure...kekeke  :D
cheers...
"Dive Like Hell & You'll Be There" (it's so true... i personally have experienced it)
User avatar
SuperKingKong®
Scuba Guru
Scuba Guru
 
Topic author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: pLaNeT oF tHe ApE
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#7  Postby Bobo® » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:46 pm

ala, just tell like dis la, roughly... if yours is 100 bar, just tell them u got 1000 psi la... so if youre around 50 bar tell them your 500 psi la...

but the correct one is  1 bar = 14.504 (PSI - pound/square inch)
Dive Tenggara Adventure [1696725-D] twitter - @divetenggara
Need Seac-Sub, Pelican, Fantasea Line, DAN Insurance, call me www.divetenggara.com :: 019-2121109 :: info@divetenggara.com
Bobo®
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Posts: 2796
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Dalam air ler....
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#8  Postby SuperKingKong® » Wed Dec 05, 2007 7:09 pm

but takkan if i have 200bar (full tank), i tell them i have 2000psi mah :P :D

i got what u mean, bobo  ;)
cheers...
"Dive Like Hell & You'll Be There" (it's so true... i personally have experienced it)
User avatar
SuperKingKong®
Scuba Guru
Scuba Guru
 
Topic author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: pLaNeT oF tHe ApE
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#9  Postby Bobo® » Wed Dec 05, 2007 7:19 pm

SuperKingKong® wrote:but takkan if i have 200bar (full tank), i tell them i have 2000psi mah :P :D

i got what u mean, bobo  ;)


if still full tank i.e 200 bar, tell them u got 3,000 psi la, haiya...

and one more thing, why want to tipu (bluff) just said ur using bar la... finish story... why have to make thing hard la bro...  ;)
Dive Tenggara Adventure [1696725-D] twitter - @divetenggara
Need Seac-Sub, Pelican, Fantasea Line, DAN Insurance, call me www.divetenggara.com :: 019-2121109 :: info@divetenggara.com
Bobo®
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Posts: 2796
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Dalam air ler....
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#10  Postby irukandji » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:31 am

I remember that some DM tell me to indicate my air by simple fractions, 1/2 tank, 3/4 tank etc... :)
The Ocean is Calling, Let's go DIVING!
irukandji
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Posts: 345
Topics: 9
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Starpark
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#11  Postby SuperKingKong® » Thu Dec 06, 2007 5:30 am

Orinato Fuori! wrote:
SuperKingKong® wrote:but takkan if i have 200bar (full tank), i tell them i have 2000psi mah :P :D

i got what u mean, bobo  ;)


if still full tank i.e 200 bar, tell them u got 3,000 psi la, haiya...

and one more thing, why want to tipu (bluff) just said ur using bar la... finish story... why have to make thing hard la bro...  ;)


ehehee... no lah.. not realy bluff them... when buddy briefing... i told them i'm using bar version... so, they asked me to roughly calculate lah...  1bar-15psi..

but in the water... since that was my first time.. a bit kelam kabut... then some more.. half way through, they asked me my spg reading... so... (being slow in calculation  :P ) ... just hantam by saying some figures loh :P ... ehehe..
*pretended being macho... don't admit being stupid in calculation* :D

hey irukanji...

how do u hand signal for 1/2 tank or 3/4 tank?
cheers...
"Dive Like Hell & You'll Be There" (it's so true... i personally have experienced it)
User avatar
SuperKingKong®
Scuba Guru
Scuba Guru
 
Topic author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: pLaNeT oF tHe ApE
Gender: None specified

Re: Anyone using a SPG with PSI measurement?

Post Number:#12  Postby Bobo® » Thu Dec 06, 2007 4:55 pm

SuperKingKong® wrote:
Orinato Fuori! wrote:
SuperKingKong® wrote:but takkan if i have 200bar (full tank), i tell them i have 2000psi mah :P :D

i got what u mean, bobo  ;)


if still full tank i.e 200 bar, tell them u got 3,000 psi la, haiya...

and one more thing, why want to tipu (bluff) just said ur using bar la... finish story... why have to make thing hard la bro...  ;)


ehehee... no lah.. not realy bluff them... when buddy briefing... i told them i'm using bar version... so, they asked me to roughly calculate lah...  1bar-15psi..

but in the water... since that was my first time.. a bit kelam kabut... then some more.. half way through, they asked me my spg reading... so... (being slow in calculation  :P ) ... just hantam by saying some figures loh :P ... ehehe..
*pretended being macho... don't admit being stupid in calculation* :D

hey irukanji...

how do u hand signal for 1/2 tank or 3/4 tank?


errr i take off my reg and say it in words.... heheheh can use slate la easy or just show your spg... let them figure out hahaha...

or show your 5 finger for 5 and ok sign with all finger close (the O pointing towards them) for 0.  ;)
Dive Tenggara Adventure [1696725-D] twitter - @divetenggara
Need Seac-Sub, Pelican, Fantasea Line, DAN Insurance, call me www.divetenggara.com :: 019-2121109 :: info@divetenggara.com
Bobo®
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Posts: 2796
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Dalam air ler....
Gender: None specified


Return to Dive Computers/Bottom Timer/Gauges

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron