MalaysianUnderwater.com (MUW) • View topic - Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#1  Postby irukandji » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:43 am

I'm wondering if a STA is necesary for Dive Rite back plate and Venture Wing? I also wonder how the wing is going to be attached to the plate, with the wing nuts?

I know that most Halcyon, OMS wings need STA to dive with single tanks while Oxycheq wings might come with the Tank Stabilizer.

Hope the tech divers/experts here could shed some lights. Better still if there's divers here using the Dive Rite setup. B-)
The Ocean is Calling, Let's go DIVING!
irukandji
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Topic author
Posts: 345
Topics: 9
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Starpark
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#2  Postby Nazir Amin » Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:02 am

errmm ecuse me.. STA is stand for what..
Seekor anak kera bertanya ke ibunya, “Bu, knapa ya wajah kita begitu jelek?”
Jawab ibunya, “Bersyukurlah nak, sebab wajah kita gak sejelek orang yang baca tulisan ini…”
User avatar
Nazir Amin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 2:18 am
Location: Sri Kundang, Rawang
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#3  Postby MT_Tanc » Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:25 am

4321 wrote:errmm ecuse me.. STA is stand for what..


i guess Single Tank Adaptor kot? :sad10:
A good woman will do 70 chores around the house. Cooking and 69
MT_Tanc
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:08 pm
Location: South Success Valley, M-Punk
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#4  Postby YaRp » Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:32 am

MT_Tank wrote:
4321 wrote:errmm ecuse me.. STA is stand for what..


i guess Single Tank Adaptor kot? :sad10:


MT_Tank is rite..STA=Single Tank Adapter
[img width=155 height=120]http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/7029/ssiowdub4.jpg[/img]
YaRp
Advanced Diver
Advanced Diver
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:40 am
Location: Langkaville
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#5  Postby Nizaha » Thu Dec 06, 2007 5:25 am

Hi gangs

Yes. DR plate/Venture required STA. Balanced rig. I have my Pioneer/Halcyon plate don't need STA at all.  either new OMS 30 LB. You have to have nuts/wing nuts to attach wing on your plate.

Advantage to have STA is  allow you to secure any wing to your backplate for single tank diving. STA also ideal for travel. No hassle, no weigh belt or weight pocket require if you only diving with 3kg max. and mostly you can choose either 3kg STA or no weight STA. Since I only diving with drysuit normally I put extra 1kg at my tank strap since I have  SS backplate which is already give me 3kg . It's work well to me

Anyway nice to have STA for make your rig balance underwater.

Safe diving
Zaha
Equipment can go to those depths, but your body might not be able to..
Nizaha
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:00 pm
Location: lake Dore,Ontario, Canada
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#6  Postby AcId » Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:38 am

To me the answer is not neccessary but recommended.

Yes, bcos with transpac your tank strap are weaved thru it then weaved thru the wings slots hence your wing will be secured enuf when you secure your tank.

But what Nizaha said is true, with a STA it will better position and balanced your tank from slight sway expecially if you are small in built. So it is still better to have a STA but if you forget to bring one during your dive... its not the end of your dive trip lah you can still use without the STA.
If I have a dollar & U have a dollar & we swap, neither is better off. BUT if I have an idea and U have an idea & we swap we r both richer.
AcId
Sport Diver
Sport Diver
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:08 am
Location: Long Hill, Temasek
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#7  Postby irukandji » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:10 pm

Thanks for all the answers!!  :) Really appreciate that. By the way, any divers here ever make their own DIY STA? or is more cost effective to just buy a ready made one from dive shop?

Yes, 4321 my STA means Single Tank Adapter.  ;)
The Ocean is Calling, Let's go DIVING!
irukandji
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Topic author
Posts: 345
Topics: 9
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Starpark
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#8  Postby aquaholic » Fri Dec 07, 2007 9:23 pm

STA is most useful if your diving consist of combination of either single or twins. It makes your life easy to configure your harness from twins to single and back. Faster than having to re-thread your tank bands everytime.

DIY? - the STA is simple enuf to fabricate but you need to find marine grade steel and a friendly machine shop to press the STA and to remove all the sharp edges. Else it will cut into your tank bands (or worse still your bladder!!).
My advice is to just buy ready made and avoid the grief.
aquaholic
Sport Diver
Sport Diver
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:08 am
Location: KL
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#9  Postby MT_Tanc » Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:03 am

very the wise words from our sifoo,aquaholic. ;) eh!bro how was your vacation to Red Hill?(off topic alert)
A good woman will do 70 chores around the house. Cooking and 69
MT_Tanc
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:08 pm
Location: South Success Valley, M-Punk
Gender: None specified

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#10  Postby Snafu » Sat Dec 08, 2007 4:14 pm

I do have 1 Aluminium STA if anyone interested

:D
Some people are only ALIVE because it's against the law to KILL them...really!!!
Snafu
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: I don't know
Gender: Male

Re: Is STA needed for Dive Rite plate and Venture Wing?

Post Number:#11  Postby irukandji » Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:41 am

Snafu wrote:I do have 1 Aluminium STA if anyone interested

:D


Mmmm.....just right on time...might take a look at your STA too.
The Ocean is Calling, Let's go DIVING!
irukandji
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Topic author
Posts: 345
Topics: 9
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Starpark
Gender: None specified


Return to BCDs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron