MalaysianUnderwater.com (MUW) • View topic - advise on gear

advise on gear

You can upload photos to the forum when you make your post. Click on "Attachments and Other Options" for the upload box.

advise on gear

Post Number:#1  Postby ngyampei » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:15 pm

i am currently own a canon 5dmk2 dslr with 17-40L lens  without case and strobe ...
i am a landscape photographer and recently get into scuba diving .
due to very limited budget , i couldnt own the housing for my dslr which are so costly but definitely few years later i will get it .

in the meanwhile , i am thinking that should i go for compact cam like canon g12 with housing ? or should i just go for the most economic way - get a underwater housing for my iphone 4s since it can take hd video with light and it able to capture good quality photo too .

thanks a lot :police:
ngyampei
Diver
Diver

Topic author
Topics: 5

Re: advise on gear

Post Number:#2  Postby run » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:32 am

for a photographer have this  urge of taking pictures and getting images of everything that come into interest. I say go for G12 with housing.
As a photographer you already understand these EV+-, f-stops, lenses,shutter speed.
You will feel frusted taking pix that is too blue, or too underexpose or too blur.
run
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver

Topics: 20

Post Number:#3  Postby toodus » Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:03 am

True True.
I am using a Panasonic Lumix FT1 ..the first series of the Lumix and it can be entirely frustrating because my camera do not have the cool functions like a DSLR. So, since you are already well versed with shutter speed, white balance, ISO, etc...just try it out with a G12 and housing.
Underwater Housing for iPhone are for amateurs. You're not one right? So, G12 it is.

An analogy for uw photographers :

If you go to Mydin and buy the kiddie badminton racquet at RM5.00 and give it to Lee Chong Wei, he can still give you a double bagel.