MalaysianUnderwater.com (MUW) • View topic - Finning techniques

Finning techniques

Intrigued & interested in diving mixed gas, decompression diving, multiple tanks? Drop in here to find out more…..

Finning techniques

Post Number:#1  Postby MazAmi » Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:25 am

Anybody been on the DIR course?.....interested to learn about DIR finning techniques using the old-styled scubapro jet fins. You can fin without disturbing the bottom sediment, rotate on a 10 sen coin and even reverse! Good for wreckies and techies. I have seen people doing it on the DIR course....but it was just too expensive for me.
Can teach for free ah?
MazAmi

Topic author

Re: Finning techniques

Post Number:#2  Postby SeaDemon » Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:09 am

IMO, it doesn't really matter what fins you use as long as they're not split fins (I may be wrong, I've never used split fins before). Personally, I use a MARES Volo even when doing tech diving..as long as I'm not in a hurry, employing the finning methods you mention. Even if you use the Scubapro jet-fins you'll kick up sediment if you employ the wrong techniques and have poor buoyancy.

The techniques are: frog, modified frog, modified flutter, back-kick (you'll need the jet-fins to execute this properly), helicopter turn, full stop etc. I normally use frog and modified frog, the latter if I do swim throughs or when I hover 3"-6" above the bottom so as not to stir the sediment...

As for turning on the dime employing helicopter turn, I don't find that very useful when I'm in a tight spot in a wreck somewhere. I have my fingers in my gloves, I'll use them to turn. I use it when I do UW photography/videography when the subject moves not too far to my south.

As for teaching for free, yeah, sure can. As long as you pay for my dives, accommodation, meals, boat transfer, toll and fuel costs  ;D
SeaDemon

Topic author

Post Number:#3  Postby Jim » Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:16 am