MalaysianUnderwater.com (MUW) • View topic - Do you use manual depth gauge?

Do you use manual depth gauge?

Intrigued & interested in diving mixed gas, decompression diving, multiple tanks? Drop in here to find out more…..

Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#1  Postby SuperKingKong® » Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:22 pm

hey,

since i see most of u ppl only have one pressure gauge on your HP hose, and since some says u can't trust electronic devices 100%, do you carry a manual depth gauge down there?

and if u do, where do u mount it? wrist? put it in the pocket?

cheers.
cheers...
"Dive Like Hell & You'll Be There" (it's so true... i personally have experienced it)
User avatar
SuperKingKong®
Scuba Guru
Scuba Guru
 
Topic author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: pLaNeT oF tHe ApE
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#2  Postby najiBEST » Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:28 pm

i still carry my depth gauge on my console :) actually my pressure gauge comes stand alone but i got my old rubber console house that have the depth gauge, so i just attach them together heh

i am though, planning to buy a housing that can fit my depth gauge and wear it on my wrist :) (saw it @ www.scubatoys.com maybe u can order heh) and leave the pressure gauge alone on the HP hose
DIVE DIVE DIVE ...
User avatar
najiBEST
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:38 am
Location: KLCC
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#3  Postby aquaholic » Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:33 pm

I carry a spare manual depth gauge on my slate for deco dives only. You can carry your spare depth gauge anywhere as long as it is accessible if needed.
aquaholic
Sport Diver
Sport Diver
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:08 am
Location: KL
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#4  Postby SuperKingKong® » Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:46 pm

i'm just wondering, it's just a round thing, unless u put it in a pocket or a jacket to hold, there is no way for u to poke a hole and hang it anywhere...

hey najibest... if u confirm want... i'll give them a call :)
cheers...
"Dive Like Hell & You'll Be There" (it's so true... i personally have experienced it)
User avatar
SuperKingKong®
Scuba Guru
Scuba Guru
 
Topic author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: pLaNeT oF tHe ApE
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#5  Postby Mephisto the Heretic » Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:40 pm

no matter where you want to put or mount you depth gauge, make sure the sensor diapgram is not block from doing an accurate reading.

also an interesting note is Swatch has as watch that has a bottom timer function. priced cheaper than a high end depth gauge, it would be a good back up as a watch and depth gauge.

emar, faceless and some other diver has this watch, maybe you can ask them about the performance.
BE FAITHFUL! BE STRONG! BE VIGILANT!
'...a mind without purpose will walk in dark places.' -The Spheres of Longing, II. ix. 31.
User avatar
Mephisto the Heretic
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
SCUBA PROFESSIONAL
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:38 pm
Location: Kuala lumpur
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#6  Postby SuperKingKong® » Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:51 am

hey mep, thanks for the advice.

i have heard of the swatch watch. it's called Scuba fun watch... not sure whether it's confusing.... coz it has only "2 needle...hour and minute" .. but it has to show the time as well as the depth. roughly abt usd$75
cheers...
"Dive Like Hell & You'll Be There" (it's so true... i personally have experienced it)
User avatar
SuperKingKong®
Scuba Guru
Scuba Guru
 
Topic author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: pLaNeT oF tHe ApE
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#7  Postby Nizaha » Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:54 am

SKK

Any idea why should we carry analog depth gauge??  or should we have 2 backup digital gauge during the dives.

Any comment

Zaha
Equipment can go to those depths, but your body might not be able to..
Nizaha
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:00 pm
Location: lake Dore,Ontario, Canada
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#8  Postby John F SeaDemon » Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:40 am

I carry an analog depth gauge with me in my pocket for deco dives only.

I've had PDC battery failure underwater before.
-If I tell you I'm good, you would probably think I'm boasting. If I tell you I'm no good, you know I'm lying-
John F SeaDemon
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5478
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:46 pm
Location: Underwater
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#9  Postby Nizaha » Thu Nov 15, 2007 10:13 am

Let say one of your comp kaput, How do you counting your deco times with analog gauge? let say you don't have any device since you only diving with one comp or bttm timer

Zaha
Equipment can go to those depths, but your body might not be able to..
Nizaha
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:00 pm
Location: lake Dore,Ontario, Canada
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#10  Postby John F SeaDemon » Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:20 pm

Nizaha wrote:

Let say one of your comp kaput, How do you counting your deco times with analog gauge? let say you don't have any device since you only diving with one comp or bttm timer

Zaha


Start counting with your fingers hahaha! I always have a separate bottom timer which is also analog as a redundant system. And I always sync it with the dive comp and my run times on the slate.
-If I tell you I'm good, you would probably think I'm boasting. If I tell you I'm no good, you know I'm lying-
John F SeaDemon
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5478
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:46 pm
Location: Underwater
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#11  Postby Nizaha » Thu Nov 15, 2007 10:30 pm

So it's rather have Bottom timer instead of analog depth gauge right..!!

safe diving.

Zaha
Equipment can go to those depths, but your body might not be able to..
Nizaha
Master Scuba Diver
Master Scuba Diver
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:00 pm
Location: lake Dore,Ontario, Canada
Gender: None specified

Re: Do you use manual depth gauge?

Post Number:#12  Postby SuperKingKong® » Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:56 am

hi zaha,

well, what i think is that, if u have to computer with u, it should be fine.
why i'm asking this is that i see comments on "not to trust electronic devices 100%", so, i'm just wondering if anyone of u do carry an analog depth gauge with you.

cheers.
cheers...
"Dive Like Hell & You'll Be There" (it's so true... i personally have experienced it)
User avatar
SuperKingKong®
Scuba Guru
Scuba Guru
 
Topic author
Posts: 2454
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: pLaNeT oF tHe ApE
Gender: None specified


Return to Technical Diving

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron